Understanding ROAS vs. ROI: What You Should Really Measure
For several years, marketing success was defined by the probe that your business had a high Return on Investment (ROI), which was and is still considered to measure your marketing spend.
However, in this competitive world, success is also determined by revenue, and then there is the increasing significance of Return on Ad Spend (ROAS).
While providing advertising and PPC services in Delhi NCR, we have often seen that ROAS and ROI, as two important metrics, are used interchangeably, while they are very different in some specific ways. So, what’s the difference between ROAS and ROI?
Let’s assume you spend ₹10,000 on an ad campaign. After some time, you have earned ₹50,000 in sales. So, what are your business’ actual earnings after all expenses?
Here comes the understanding of ROAS and ROI – think of ROAS as evaluating the tactic of the ad campaign performance, and ROI as assessing the profitability of the campaign.
Let’s dig deeper into this discussion –
What is ROAS?
ROAS or Return on Ad Spend is a metric that is usually used for evaluating how effective your investments are at generating revenues for every rupee you spend.
The Formula of ROAS is –
Example:
Let’s talk about the ad campaign we mentioned. As you spend ₹10,000 on ads and generate ₹50,000 as revenue, your ROAS is:
If you spend ₹10,000 on Meta, Google or TikTok ads and generate ₹30,000 in revenue, your ROAS is:
₹50,000/₹10,000=5x, which means for every ₹1 spending, you earned ₹5.
ROAS Is Best Used For –
Evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of the advertising campaign
Getting a clearer picture of how much revenue is generated against each dollar spent on ads
Determining which campaigns, channels and ad formats are most profitable (like Meta Ads or Google Ads)
Deciding where to focus advertising effects
Identifying underperforming ads allows for adjustment and optimization
Limitations of ROAS –
As a leading social media marketing company in Delhi NCR, we also highlight a few limitations of ROAS.
ROAS focuses on short-term results, which often ignore the full customer journey.
It doesn’t consider factors like product, shipping or employee salaries.
Not suitable for all types of marketing effects, especially those focused on brand awareness.
What Is ROI?
ROI or Return on Investment measures the return on a particular investment, compared to the cost of the investment. It’s a ratio to understand what you get back as the net profit in comparison to what you put in as an investment.
The Formula of ROI –
Example
Let’s continue the discussion on our previous ad campaign. Your ad spend is ₹10,000, and revenue generation is ₹50,000.
Now, your net profit is ₹50,000−₹10,000=₹40,000 (Net Profit Formula: Net Profit=Revenue−Cost).
Now, plug it into the ROI formula: (₹40,000÷₹10,000) × 100=400%
So your investment grew by 400%! For every ₹1 you spent, you earned ₹4 in profit.
ROI Is Best Used –
Understanding the actual profitability of an investment by comparing its gain or loss in proportion to its cost
Assessing the potential return from asset investment
Evaluating long-term business strategy and planning
Getting the actual financial picture, including product costs, shipping, platform fees, and overhead and operational costs
Helping businesses prioritize high-margin campaigns or products
Limitations of ROI
ROI ignores the time value of money, which is crucial for long-term projects.
Due to its oversimplification, it solely focuses on financial returns, while overlooking qualitative factors such as market positioning, brand reputation and employee satisfaction.
While ROI indicates potential return, as a reliable social media marketing agency in Delhi NCR, we cannot overlook the fact that ROI doesn’t feature the risk level associated with an investment.
ROAS vs. ROI – What Are the Key Differences?
NOTE: Businesses and marketers should remember that high ROAS doesn’t necessarily mean high ROI. When your costs are too high, there could be a chance of losing money despite your striking ad performance report.
ROAS vs ROI – Which Metric Should You Use?
When considering ROAS vs. ROI, it’s crucial to remember that it’s not an either/or situation. Both of them are helpful in different aspects –
You can use ROAS for –
Running A/B tests
Launching new campaigns
Monitoring short-term performance
Again, you can count on ROI for –
Planning budgets
Evaluating full-funnel performance
Making investment decisions
While ROAS is useful for understanding short-term profitability, ROI is effective for optimizing long-term strategy. Using them together gives you a complete picture of your overall marketing efforts.
Final Thought
In an ideal marketing world, ROAS and ROI complete each other. While ROAS is crucial to optimize ad spend, ROI helps drive your efforts towards sustainable growth. If you want to get a complete, 360° view of your marketing performance and financial health, the best practice is to include both metrics.
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